career ideas

Introduce yourself so we know who you are, your dreams, your job or even your technology and tools you have at your dispense
cocodancer

career ideas

Postby cocodancer » Fri Mar 06, 2015 7:51 pm

hi, i stumbled on this forum as I was looking for advice from fellow machinists. A bit of background information - I am currently pursuing my studies in Machinery - but majoring on woodworking and carving using CNC. I am a pro in coding - a superstar in my class, even. I was drawn into the field by the promise of operating huge machines and coming up with precise products. I have come a long way since then, realising that my passion lies in the design and production of artistic items. Which brings me to the troubling part.

I have been thinking long and hard about my future. I am currently 23 and just heading out into the field in a couple of years. I wonder where I will be employed, what I might go and earn and if it is worth making a living out of it. I really love operating these machines and doing cool things with my life.

I guess my question is about the insight of the future prospects. is there a way of judging how the market will be in a few years? what are the developments in the industry that might treathen long term thing?

Secondly, i saw that this forum is about hobby cncs. I wonder if I am doing it right by thinking about this as a full time career. how do you guys do it? Is there a method to it, like perhaps dedicating some hours of the week to machinery and having another main job on the side? I am honestly thinking that I am joking with my career.

sorry if this is no place for career fairs, please let me know if this does not belong here. thanks.

Moseti

Re: career ideas

Postby Moseti » Fri Mar 06, 2015 7:55 pm